My Horse Raz

Raz 1

There are a few advantages to working on one of your OLD computers, which I am because both good ones are temporarily out of commission. I have found some of my old photographs. These were taken with an old digital Canon I think. My horse has been staying with a friend in Oregon for over a year now, so I really miss her. Finding these photos I had forgotten about makes me miss her to tears. Someday I hope to have her back.

Raz 2

She was the best trail horse ever. She would do anything I asked of her and would canter through the surf… plus she had a personality that was sweet, loving and you would swear she knew what you were saying.

Raz 3

She is also one of the few horses I have ever known who LOVES to go for rides. She is like a dog with it’s leash when I show her the bridle. She goes faster leaving that coming home. One time when I got back I just put the reins down and gave her the signal to go to see what she would do and she turned around and went back to the trail. What a horse!

Raz 4

Email Address

~ by Jayleen on March 1, 2008.

6 Responses to “My Horse Raz”

  1. he’s lovely. you must have had quite a change of lifestyle to be horseless now….

  2. Yes, sometimes life happens. I got very ill and needed to have surgery and there were complications following and the long story short is that I lost most of what I owned including most of my pets.

    The good news about what happened is that having a lot of time on my hands and not a whole lot of energy I took the oportunity to focus entirely on my work as a photographer. I also confined my focus to my own art. Since I was only able to work for brief periods of time both with the camera and on the computer, it began slowly.

    A friend saw my work and prodded me to show it. So I got together about 8 pieces on canvas and entered my first show on July 3rd and 4th, 2006. The response was overwhelming. Although there was no prize for having the best booth, I was told over and over by the show attendees that I had the best work and display there. I was a little taken back by the ‘OOOhhs’ and ‘AAAaahhhhs.’

    So then I did a Farmer’s Market and a lady from the local college saw my work and asked me to do a show at the college. I had to scramble to get 20 pieces done. Again, the response was overwhelming.

    At this point in time I am almost completely disabled. It’s very difficult to hold my camera or even to type on this computer. Fortunately I am able to work for short spells and rest as often as needed. Although I can see the day coming where I won’t be able to work on it at all. I am pleased that I have been able to be as prolific as I have and build a body of work that can carry me through.

    So my illness and disability have been both blessing and curse so to speak. And I still have my cat. 🙂

    There is also hope that I may find cures for what ails me or at least find the right combination of medications to ease the chronic pain. I try to never give up hope, although some days the temptation is there.

    So there’s my long answer to your brief comment. lol

  3. Jayleen,

    I had no idea you have been so ill – I am so sorry. I cannot believe how hard it must habe been for you – the illness, the pain, losing your possessions and your beloved pets. Hugs.

    I am sure Raz missess you too – horses are such wonderful sensitive creatures. But that is little consolation.

    I will pray for the medical folk to find out just what is wrong and get you the right treatment.

  4. Thank you. Prayers are always welcome. 🙂

  5. me too. I had no idea you were unwell and I’ll keep my fingers crossed that your health improves soon x

  6. I would have never guessed that you were constrained. Regardless I like your photos. Hope your life is as good as your photos.

Leave a Reply

 
